Mindfield

Proceeding slowly
To defuse this minefield
Of pain
Confusion
And hurt

Swallowing the blasts whole
To save some unwitting
Soul
Some innocent
Passerby

Paying close attention
To the things I control
My actions
My reactions
My words

Making sure not to cut
Not to slash
Not to lash out

Being mindful
That I still care
And to rip you
Would tear me
Apart

But it still hurts
The pain is still fresh
The ache is still deep

…So I lay these minefields again
Defenses
Against the next onslaught
So it can be you now
Who tiptoes on eggshells
Who treads softly
And lightly
Wondering and hoping
You did nothing wrong

I raise these fences
“Protecting”
My heart
From you
While imprisoning
My soul

…I hate what hate does

Again I proceed slowly
To defuse this minefield
Taking tiny steps
While building this gate
Going crazy from this battle posturing

All is not fair
In this war.

Proliferation
and disarmament
A psychotic ebb and flow
Of emotion
Irrational in every way.

Hurt only begets more hurt
Unless someone breaks the cycle.

There’s always going to be pain.

I must do my part
To minimize the damage.

(c) 2009 L. Ashwood

One thought on “Mindfield

  1. the words… the emotions… i can feel the pain
    the slashes… the rips… the tears… the pain… the aches…
    i feel it all
    it embodies so many emotions
    so to answer your question it most definitely fits….

Speak your mind

