Give me those ones

Give me the ones who dare

to care

to make a difference

The ones with fear

in their glare

but still stand for change

The ones with purpose

scared and nervous

that the failure option may be default

But still try and attempt

despite contempt

to  be the Light and the Salt.

Light

that is bright

that puts up the fight

that pushes darkness to flee

Salt

that is cleansing

– though corruption is tempting –

that cleans out muck and debris

Light

in their step

Salted

with reasoning

Full of energy

Varied like seasoning

The ones who wish

And provides a plan

The ones who pray

And designs a stand

The ones who play

but keeps a watchful eye

for ones who stray

and needs another try

Give me those ones

To dearly hold near

The ones who want change

And care to dare.

(c) 2010 L. Ashwood

10 thoughts on “Give me those ones

  1. interesting that I should read this now (right after my devotion), when I’ve been reflecting on something along these lines.

    I’ll send you a Franciscan blessing that I just read and that really struck a chord with me, and to which your piece is the full stop or semi colon 🙂 thank you

  2. Powerful. I found myself thinking, “yeah! give me those ones too!”… and also wondering, if I could possible ever BE one of those ones, myself. Something to strive for…

    I especially liked the underlined AND lines… because, really… without the AND’s there, the first halfs of those don’t mean much.. do they??

    Thanks for this. =)

Speak your mind

