Dark Brown Eyes

Dark brown eyes

Staring deep into my soul

Asking me questions

I dare not answer

Seeing things

I dare not say out loud

Pleading for actions

I cannot succour.

I close my eyes:

To hide in the dark there

To pretend you can’t see me

And I can’t see your dark hair

Though I can smell it –

A little too well,

As I breathe deep and slow

To try to compose my self

I want you to know

and see,

Lying to you

While lying with me

My self

and eyes

Wide shut

I clasp my lids as lips

Cuz staring into your deep brown eyes,

I find

I’m always saying too much.

(c) 2010 L. Ashwood

6 thoughts on “Dark Brown Eyes

Speak your mind

