You make me smile

*smile*

the troubles of my day melt away

my body relaxes

and my muscles take a break:

releasing tension

breaking the constant suspension

of stress

i take a deep breath

you handle me

too well

and I can’t stay mad at you

no matter the bad you do

because you’re so good to me

and your smile is so good to see

and I miss you

when you’re away

you handle my issues

and brighten my day

I’m glad each time I furrow my brow

you are the amazing one

who seems to know how

to erase all the things that’s driving me wild

to take my breath away

and make me smile

(c) 2010 L. Ashwood

7 thoughts on “You make me smile

    1. yay grandbabies!! 🙂

      poems, or any type of art really, are the best stress relief you can have! and children? they can be really awesome! it’s the innocence that gets you! even though they’re all evil! 🙂 …ok maybe only 95% of them. 🙂

      I’m glad you liked this one! I suspect there might be a couple more today, I’m in a really good mood. 🙂

      what you think of the new layout?

  1. YOU make me smile. I was listening to India Arie’s “Grains” while I read this, so I’m really feeling this piece right now.

    The new layout is OK; it feels a bit more crowded than the previous one.

    1. I think so too…I’m going through a couple at the moment. …but the instant i finalize a header for one I find something wrong with it.

      Speaking of which, how do u like the current header?

  2. That’s the power of a smile…it does give your face a rest. I wish more of us would make each other smile. It would be a much better, yes, stress-free existence. You do make me smile Lori! Another great piece.

Speak your mind

