Can

They will call you Impossible
When they don’t understand;

They will label your Unique

‘Weird’

‘Abnormal’

And ‘unable to occur’,

Even as you stand before them
Your breathing existence
Proving them wrong
Challenging their quo
Changing the status of their world
And bending their rules to breaking
They will deny your possibility

In their can’t

You can

Teach them again
That man learned to fly
Despite their laws
That water vapor can move metal
And metal can make light without fire

That their can’t

Is your challenge

Their boundaries

Your dare

And their impossibles

Your potential


Look their inability
to grasp your possibility
In the face
And tell them
“Since YOU can’t,
Just watch me!”

Then do it.

© 12-21-2011 L. Ashwood

One thought on “Can

  1. Love this one Lori. Great work!! It has always been my experience in life when someone tells me I can’t or I’m incapable of doing something it spurs me on to prove them wrong by not only accomplishing what they say I cannot but also excel at it.

    I particularly love the lines: Teach them…That their can’t Is your challenge
    Their boundaries, Your dare
    And their impossibles Your potential

    And I know that this one really epitomizes you!!

    Wonderful

    Love
    Auntie Carol

Speak your mind

