Today I let go

Today
I force myself to walk away
To let go the last strands of cord
Keeping your boat at this port

Today
I run with scissors
To cut heartstrings still attached
Hoping the quick
Will also be painless

Because yesterday
I tried to warn you
Give you a fighting chance
And then I realized
If this fight was worth fighting
It would require no inviting

So today
I release you
Fish into the sea
Lion back to the wild
Kite to the wind
And let you go

You never really loved me
Anyway

© 4-24-2012 L. Ashwood

3 thoughts on “Today I let go

Speak your mind

