I wait for you

I wait for you–

I hold my breath

To make space for your words,

I stay stock still

Lest you scare easily;

I hold my own hands a little too tightly,

For I fear

That if I reach for you

You may unravel

Like the loosely knitted edges

Of a dream ended too soon;

I will myself to patience

Command my heart

To beat softer against my chest

In the silence of my secret stares

I want you

to catch me looking

If that would help our fate

But you, my darling

Are yet unready

So for now

My dear

I wait.

©1-30-2013 L. Ashwood

9 thoughts on “I wait for you

Speak your mind

