Where do I put it?

Where do I put it?!
This effusive flush of thought
That you have handed me
Bow-tied
And knotted
Just so
So that my eyes forbid me rest
While my mind tries
To simultaneously wrap around
And untangle
That which you’ve given me 
So contritely
So sincerely
That it begs that extra moment
That I have not to spare
Where do I put this?!
This piece of you
You’ve given to me
A period too late
In a lifetime too short
To go traipsing in the past
When the future is right around the corner
Where do I put it?
This heart you’ve laid out for me
So long after
The rivers I’ve cried are no more.

© 3-3-12 L. Ashwood

2 thoughts on “Where do I put it?

Speak your mind

